Lemon-Thyme Crusted Beef Roast

150108_LemonThymeRecipe

New Year’s at the parentals is typically a blend of Filipino and Southern dishes. There are always three dishes present to nosh on throughout the day: pancit (long, uncut noodles, for long life), black-eye peas (for prosperity for the new year) and beef roast. Usually the beef roast is roasted with a covering of honey and mustard, but this year I spent the day in my apartment (my choice), I stilled made the required foods for the New Year!

Pancit and the black-eye peas are simple dishes that use very specific ingredients, but I wanted to try the McCormick Gourmet Thyme that came in the Influester Frosty VoxBox sample box. I found a simple and easy roast that uses thyme and my favorite, lemons: Lemon-Thyme Crusted Beef Roast. I believe the original recipe used rib roast beef, but I couldn’t find any in the size I wanted, so I went with a boneless roast. I really love how the came out!

Lemon-Thyme Crusted Beef
 
1 beef roast (6 to 8 pounds) 
Lemon-Thyme Paste: 
2 tablespoons dried thyme 
2 tablespoons minced garlic 
1 tablespoon freshly grated lemon peel 
1 tablespoon olive oil 
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt & pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine paste ingredients; press evenly onto beef roast.
2. Place roast, fat side up, in a shallow roasting pan. Do not cover. Roast in 350 degree oven 2 1/4 to 3 hours.
3. Transfer roast to carving board and tent with aluminum foil. Let roast stand 15 to 20 minutes before carving into slices. Makes 8 servings

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. All opinions expressed here are my own personal views, and do not represent the views of any company or organization with which I may be affiliated.

Leave a Reply

