January Favorites

150129-JanuaryFaves_04The weather has been unusual lately. The last couple of days up here in the PNW have been spring-like. So much so, I’ve been tempted to breakout my spring clothes, but I know when I do, it’s just going to get cold again… I really want to start wearing some spring clothes and opened-toed shoes. January: What’s going on, huh?

Speaking of January, I thought I might start doing a monthly favorites, or rather things that I’m completely obsessed with this month. So here’s just what I’ve been lovin’:

150129-JanuaryFaves_01

//Hair & Skin Care//

I don’t know if I should put this in as a January favorite since I brought it back in November, but I finally used the last of it just last week. Alaffia African Black Soap was my go-to body / face / shaving / shampooing wash for the last two months. I brought it at Haggen’s when I made a quick lunch run to pick-up some medications before Thanksgiving. For the first few uses, I thought the Peppermint smell with the shea was a little weird, but grew used to it. It’s all gone now, but I’m kind of thinking of going to get another bottle (maybe a different scent) since it was a great all-around soap. Definitely give this a try if you haven’t.

As a mix-chick, I use conditioner like there is no tomorrow and I usually have at least two or three bottles on hand. Why? Don’t know. Makes me happy… Anyhow, I was wondering the beauty section at TJ Maxx and found this bottle of By Nature From New Zealand Dry and Damage Hair Conditioner. I love this stuff. I use it when I wash my hair with soap and when I just do a co-wash. Leave it in for 10 to 15 minutes and my hair is like uber soft!

150129-JanuaryFaves_03

//Beauty//

You probably already saw these in some previous posts, but yeah loving the L’Oreal True Match Lumi foundation and Maybelline New York Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser. I made the switch at the beginning of this month from Maybelline’s Fit Foundation to L’Oreal. Mainly since I was reading a lot of posts of other blogger raving about it. And they are right. The True Match is a great formula. Glides effortlessly on my skin and blends so well. And the Pore Eraser, why did I go so long before purchasing this! Such a good product in comparison to the higher priced one I was using.

150129-JanuaryFaves_02

//Food Faves//

QuestBars. They are a bit on the expensive side of protein bars: a box of 12 goes for about $25. But they are some of the best protein bars out there. Whenever I hit the mall I stop into GNC and grab some, but this month, I’ve been having them pretty much after every strength workout in the evenings. They are great tasting and most are loaded with about 20g of protein. They are also low in sugar and carbs. My favorites are the White Chocolate Raspberry and Chocolate Brownie!

I’ve made the switch from whole wheat brown bread to rye bread. I thought it was going to be odd tasting at first, but it’s not. It’s really great with vegan cream cheese and cucumbers. I got recommended Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye from a fellow gym member. Right now I can only find it at Haggen’s and online. So Haggen’s better not stop selling them. I would be so unhappy!

What’s everyone else obsessing about?

One thought on “January Favorites

Leave a Reply

