GF Zucchini Fritters

150303_ZucchiniFritters_03This weekend I visited my parents on the island for my mom’s birthday. Since they live pretty far out in the country (island-wise), they tend to forget to keep a good stock of ingredients. One of my biggest complaints was their lack of fresh veggies and fruits that they brought at Costco a month ago.

But lately they’ve been keep lot of variety in house. While rummaging their fridge to see what to make for lunch I found some zucchini that needed to be used. Looking around I found eggs, some onion, and gluten-free flour. Boom, I had everything I need to make some fritters!

150303_ZucchiniFritters_02

No one to just wing-it, I made a quick on my phone for gluten-free zucchini fritters and found Sugar-Free Mom‘s recipe! This worked out great because I didn’t think about getting the water out of the zucchini. I did change the recipe a bit with the addition of onions and the use of coconut oil instead of ghee.

150303_ZucchiniFritters_01Gluten Free Zucchini Fritters (Adapted from Sugar-Free Mom‘s recipe)

Ingredients
Instructions
  1. Sprinkle zucchini with salt and let it sit in a strainer for 10 minutes. Place zucchini in a clean dish towel or cheese cloth and wrap up tightly and squeeze out as much liquid as possible.
  2. Mix zucchini and the rest of the ingredients into a bowl and mix well.
  3. Heat oil in a large skillet.
  4. Drop and flatten spoonful of batter onto the hot skillet.
  5. Cook 2-3 minutes on each side or until browned.
  6. Place cooked fritters onto a paper towel lined plate and keep warm.
  7. Serve with either sour cream or in my case Filipino Spicy Banana Ketchup (best thing ever!)
Leave a Reply

