Windowshill Herb

150415_WindowsillHerb

Spring has finally come despite some setback thanks to mother nature (it hailed on Camano the other night…). That means that spring flowers and gardens are starting to sprout up everywhere. When I was a teen, I had a nice sectioned off area of my parents property that I grew flower and herbs. I tended that area every year getting it ready in the late winter for my seedling to planted in and used my own money to buy little plants and decor.

I still love planting, but I rather not have a huge yard or garden area. It takes quite a bit of time to tend large space for plants and I don’t want to make that kind of commitment only for the plants to die.

Growing plants in the window are great for small apartment dwellers like me who want to grow herbs and flowers. While last year I grew some basil and parsley that did very well, this year I decided to grow some thing different. I went to my local Fred Meyer’s and got three little plants: rosemary, peppermint and lavender. While I have grown rosemary and peppermint before, this will be a first with lavender. I had a wonderful rosemary plant when I lived with my parents, but my mother over water it and basically killed it. Seriously, I have check it more often.

These guys are going to be great for summer cooking and I can’t wait to try baking with lavender. Is anybody else excited about planting this spring?

Leave a Reply

