The Basics of a Home Gym

Home Gym Basics, Weights, Dumbbells, Workout, Fitness

When I lived on the island, all I had to workout with was a treadmill. But after a couple of months of just using that and random DVD my mother had lying around, I discovered some online videos using weights. Being so new to using weight again (I used them back in high school, but only at school), I started slow and with a manageable weight. 5-lbs to be exact. Dumbbells are the easiest to find and low cost to help build your home gym. Another piece of affordable strength training equipment: the kettle-bell.

Some other handy equipment to have around, especially if you have the room, a jump-rope. Excellent way for some good cardio. You might want to get a step-bench to do some high intensity plyometric exercises like high-knee step ups or side lunges. I don’t have one since I use my old college trunk instead. It provides the same kind of height and sturdiness but without me having to buy a bench. Also, it doubles as my coffee table at the moment.

My EZ-Bar and plates I found at a garage sale. It was a great find. I think I got them all for under $25. That’s 4 10-lb plates, 2 5-lb plates, and the bar. I can do a lot of different workouts with them. Along with some of my favorite DVD likes Jillian Michaels Kickbox FastFix and Boh Harber’s Ultimate Cardio Body, working out at home is a hard as working out at the gym!

Check out this article by Northwest Pharmacy about How to Build a Budget-Friendly Home Gym!

Leave a Reply

